menu menu

Ameland. Always pleasant Ameland

Ameland

Ameland is the fourth inhabited Dutch Wadden Island. On Ameland one finds beautiful natural surroundings: dunes, large white beaches, the Wadden Sea, and forests. The natural reserves of Oerd (an old, extensive system of dunes) and Hôn (high dunes with valleys and lakes), located in the eastern part of Ameland, are internationally renowned.

Ameland

More than 90 kilometres of cycling path was built on Ameland. The cycling paths wind through forests and dunes, and you will pass pleasant towns such as Hollum, Nes, Buren and Ballum. You can rent bikes at or near almost every hotel and town. The towns themselves are designated monuments and there is much to do.

Beaches

Ameland

On Ameland, you will find sufficient space and freedom for an endlessly relaxing holiday. The 29 kilometres of beaches allow for more than a brisk walk. Is that not enough for you? Try going vertical. The view from atop the 24 metre tall Oerdblinkert, the tallest dune on the island, is unforgettable. The briny sea air stimulates the appetite. Fortunately, Ameland’s beaches are tailored to this. The four beach pavillions are open all year round.

Ameland

On the north side of Ameland is a long beach. In most places, it is fairly narrow. There are four supervised beaches. They are located near the towns of Hollum, Ballum, Nes and Buren. To the north of Nes lies the recreational area called De Vleyen. This area offers room for aquatic sports, playgrounds, an old shipwreck and a subtropical swimming pool.

Villages

Ameland

While walking the authentic cobblestone streets of Hollum, Ballum, Nes and Buren, you will see homes that once housed sea captains, which are designated as monuments and bring to mind the whaling of times past. The history of the island goes back hundreds of years. And it is precisely this history that lends Ameland its distinct character. The many monumental buildings define the towns’ personalities. One can readily indulge in the historical ambience, both literally and figuratively, for Ameland offers an exquisite dining experience. The many restaurants and cafes will gladly treat you to freshly caught fish and island specialties.

Sightseeing

Ameland

Do you like to be active? Then you have come to the right place on Ameland. You can go skydiving, sea fishing, walk the Wadden and canoe at sea. The seal watching trip is also worth taking. A boatman will take you to the spot where seals like to rest. You will be able to see them up close!

Ameland

A visit to Ameland is not complete without a trip to the lighthouse. The 59 metre tall lighthouse has stood near Hollum since 1880. You can climb the tower. Once you reach the top, you will be treated to a view of the Wadden Sea and the North Sea, the town and a large portion of the island. Between this location in the west and the eastern end of Ameland, 90 kilometres of bicycle paths beckon. So get on that bike and pedal. The extensive network of hiking paths is also suitable for exploring the island. If you follow the beach road from Nes to the north, you will encounter Ameland’s nature centre. Inside, you can check out the natural museum, an exposition on the North Sea and a large sea aquarium.

Other attractions on Ameland are the cultural-historical museum Sorgdrager, the windmill called ‘De Verwachting’, rescue musem ‘Abraham Fock’, the Kaasboerderij, the Korenmolen and the agriculture and beachcombing museum Swartwoude.

Ameland in numbers

Population:
±3.500
Residences:
4
Area:
57,5 km²
Length max.:
23,9 km
Width max.:
5,3 km
Highest point:
NAP +24 m; Oerdblinkert
Beach length:
27 km
Biking Trails:
90 km
 

Surroundings

The local deer have it made. The fact that these animals live only on Ameland and not on the other Wadden Islands speaks volumes. The island’s nature is untouched, rugged and varied. One minute you’re walking across the Wadden and along the marshes and dunes, and the next moment you’re overlooking the forests, moorlands and meadows. Each dune on Ameland has its own story. Some are centuries old, like the Oerd, a beautiful system of dunes with high tops and humid valleys. Others are subject to daily change, such as De Hon, a vast sandy plain with young dunes and a large marsh.

Tips

Nederlands  Deutsch  English  Français 
user agreement   |   privacy   |   copyright © 1998 - 2014 Ameland.de ™

menu ☰ menu search

Ameland. Immer angenehm Ameland

Ameland

Ameland ist die vierte bewohnte Insel im niederländischen Wattenmeer. Die Natur ist herrlich auf Ameland mit Wald und Dünen, großen, weißen Stränden und dem Wattenmeer. Die Naturgebiete in Oerd (riesige alte Dünen) und Hôn (hohe Dünen mit Dünentälern und Dünenseen) im Osten von Ameland sind international bekannt.

Ameland

Auf Ameland gibt es über 90 km Radwege. Die Wege schlängeln sich durch Wälder und Dünen und Sie werden schöne Dörfer, wie Hollum, Nes, Buren und Ballum passieren. In oder in der Nähe von fast allen Hotels und in den Dörfern können Sie Fahrräder mieten. Die Dörfer selbst sind freundlich und es gibt viel zu tun.

Strand

Ameland

Auf Ameland finden Sie den Raum und Freiheit für einen endlos entspannenden Urlaub. Die 29 Kilometer Strand sind mehr als genügend für einen flotten Spaziergang. Ist das nicht genug? Versuchen Sie in die Höhe zu gehen. Von der 24 Meter hohen Oerdblinkert, der höchsten Düne der Insel, haben Sie einen unvergesslichen Blick. Die salzige Seeluft macht hungrig. Glücklicherweise ist der Strand von Ameland darauf gut eingestellt. Vier gemütliche Strandpavillons heißen Sie das ganze Jahr über willkommen.

Ameland

Im Norden von Ameland liegt ein langer Strand. Es ist in den meisten Stellen ziemlich schmal. Es gibt vier Strände, welche Rettungsschwimmer haben. Sie sind auf der Höhe der Dörfer Hollum, Nes und Buren. Nördlich von Nes ist das Erholungsgebiet De Vleyen. Dieser Bereich bietet Wassersportmöglichkeiten, Spiele, ein altes Schiffswrack und ein tropisches Schwimmbad.

Dörfer

Ameland

Bei einem Spaziergang durch die gepflasterten Straßen von Hollum, Ballum, Nes und Buren können Sie die riesigen Häuser der Walfangkapitäne sehen, und damit die Geschichte der Insel von Hunderten von Jahren. Es ist genau diese Geschichte, welche Ameland seinen Charakter gibt. Zahlreiche alte Gebäude bestimmen das Gesicht dieser Dörfer. Diese historische Ambiente ist sehr einladend. Wörtlich und im übertragenen Sinne. Ameland bietet auch eine vortreffliche Küche. So bieten die vielen Restaurants und Cafés frisch gefangenen Fisch und Inselspezialitäten an.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Ameland

Machen Sie gerne einen aktiven Urlaub? Dann sind Sie hier an der richtigen Stelle auf Ameland. Sie können Fallschirmspringen, Fischen, Kajakfahren und das Wattenmeer. Die Robbentour ist etwas ganz Besonderes. Der Skipper wird sie ganz nah an den Ort bringen, wo sich die Seehunde sammeln. Man kann sie aus nächster Nähe beobachten!

Ameland

Ein Besuch auf Ameland ist nicht komplett ohne einen Ausflug zum Leuchtturm. Nahe Hollum steht seit 1880 der 59 Meter hohe Leuchtturm. Sie können den Turm besteigen. Von ganz oben, werden Sie einen unvergesslichen Blick über das Wattenmeer, die Nordsee, das Dorf und einen großen Teil der Insel haben. Zwischen diesem Ort im Westen und der äußersten östlichen Seite von Ameland gibt es 90 km von schönen Wanderwegen. Das umfangreiche Netz von Wanderpfaden ist ideal, um die Insel zu erforschen. Wenn Sie von Nes aus dem Strandweg Richtung Norden folgen, kommen Sie zu dem Naturzentrum von Ameland. Dort können Sie sich das Naturmuseum besichtigen, wo es eine Nordsee-Ausstellung und ein großes Aquarium gibt.

Zu anderen Sehenswürdigkeiten von Ameland zählt das Kultur-historische Museum Sorgdrager, die Mühlen, das ‘Rettungsmuseum Abraham Fock’, die Käserei, Mehlmühle und das Agrar- und Strandgutmuseum Swartwoude.

Ameland in Zahlen

Bevölkerung:
±3.500
Wohnplätze:
4
Flächeninhalt:
57,5 km²
Länge max.:
23,9 km
Breite max.:
5,3 km
Höchster Punkt:
NAP +24 m; Oerdblinkert
Strand Länge:
27 km
Radwege:
90 km
 

Umwelt

Man kann hier auch Rehe gut beobachten. Es ist vielsagend, dass diese Säugetiere auf Ameland und nicht auf den anderen Watteninseln auftreten. Die Natur ist unberührt, robust und vielseitig. Von einer Minute zur anderen können Sie im Watt laufen, dann entlang von Sümpfen und durch Dünen, und im nächsten Moment bekommen Sie einen Blick auf Wälder, Moore und Wiesen. Die Dünen von Ameland erzählen ihre eigene Geschichte. Einige sind alt, wie Het Oerd, wunderschön mit hohen Dünen und feuchten bepflanzten Dünentälern. Andere Dünen ändern sich jeden Tag, wie De Hon, eine weite Ebene mit jungen Dünen und einem großen Sumpf.

Tipps

Nederlands  Deutsch  English  Français 
nutzungsbedingungen   |   datenschutzerklärung   |   copyright © 1998 - 2016 Ameland.de ™